Skip to content

Tommy Edwards Delivers YMF R3 Cup Win at SMSP | Sport | WSBK

Round 6 Sydney Motorsport Park played host to Race One of the YMF R3 Cup. Securing pole position for the YMF R3 Cup was Jack Mahaffy (JDS Moto, Yamaha YZF-R3).

Despite Tommy Edwards (Alpinestars, YZF-R3) looking like the fastest of the bunch during yesterday’s practice sessions, Mahaffy put in a storming lap when the chips were down. Edwards qualified behind Mahaffy in second position.

Edwards took off well from second on the grid but he was soon overtaken by Mahaffy. What ensued was a terrific battle between Mahaffy, Edwards and Hunter Ford (Ford Brothers Racing, Yamaha YZF-R3). The trio were chopping and changing, lap by lap.

On the last lap, the leading trio of riders were basically in unison, with nothing between them. Ford looked on course to take the advantage with the lead in the first sequence of corners, but it wouldn’t take long for Edwards to slot his bike in front around the back of SMSP. Edwards would hold that advantage to take a win with a margin as close as 0.070 over Ford and Mahaffy.

Broc Pearson (Yamaha, YZF-R3) and Corey Briffa (Alex Cudlin Motorsport, Yamaha, YZF-R3) finished in a distant fourth and fifth placings.

Ford would manage to set a new YMF R3 Cup race lap record for SMSP.


Provisional YMF R3 Cup Race One Top Ten

1 Tommy EDWARDS (Alpinestars, YZF-R3)

2 Hunter FORD (Ford Brothers Racing, Yamaha YZF-R3)

3 Jack MAHAFFY (JDS Moto, Yamaha YZF-R3)

4 Broc PEARSON (Yamaha, YZF-R3)

5 Corey BRIFFA (Alex Cudlin Motorsport, Yamaha, YZF-R3)

6 Locky TAYLOR (LTR Racing, Yamaha YZF-R3)

7 Ben BRAMICH (Ron Angel Classic Racing, Yamaha YZF-R3)

8 Tayla RELPH (Motorcycle Sportsmen Club, Yamaha YZF-R3)

9 Jonah SITA (Flashpoint Motorsport, Yamaha YZF-R3)

Photos Andrew Gosling TBG Photography