Skip to content


Jett Lawrence goes from leading by nearly 10 seconds to crashing and fighting his way back to win the AMA Pro Motocross series round!

Two wins from two starts for Aussie Jett Lawrence at the Southwick, Massachusetts, round of the AMA Pro Motocross series. With the season now at the half way mark, this further strengthens his hold on the 250 class title.

Jett Lawrence

Jett dominated the holeshot in the first moto and, despite not grabbing it immediately in the second, had regained the lead by the exit of the first turn.

After pulling out a commanding lead Jett made a critical mistake and crashed losing the lead to Justin Cooper. Jett quickly remounted to chase down the new race leader. It was now Cooper who made a pivotal mistake returning track position to Jett who managed to cross the line with a confident lead of 10.8 and 9.5 seconds in both races.

Jett’s brother, Hunter Lawrence unfortunately suffered a scary moto 1 crash that left him bruised and battered with a chipped tooth.

Jett Lawrence  18

“It was good. Qualifying went great—P1—and I was really happy with my starts today. In the second one I had a better reaction but went into the deeper sand a little bit. I was second into the turn but was able to cut down a little bit and was able to collect the holeshot, thankfully. I had a little bit of a battle with Levi [Kitchen] and then was able to break him a little bit, with lappers. Then I just ended up maintaining. The track was brutal today, but the bike felt awesome and was running great. It’s good to get that red plate back.”

AMA Pro Motocross 2022    Round 6

250 Overall Results

  1. Jett Lawrence (Hon)
  2. Jo Shimoda (Kaw)
  3. Justin Cooper (Yam)
  4. Levi Kitchen (Yam)
  5. RJ Hampshire (Hus)
  6. Stilez Robertson (Hus)
  7. Hunter Lawrence (Hon)
  8. Michael Mosiman (Gas)
  9. Nathaneal Thrasher (Yam)
  10. Jalek Swoll (Hus)

250 Championship Points (after 6 of 12 rounds)

  1. Jett Lawrence: 261
  2. Hunter Lawrence: 246
  3. Jo Shimoda: 224
  4. Justin Cooper: 197
  5. Levi Kitchen: 180
  6. Michael Mosiman: 169
  7. Stilez Robertson: 158
  8. Seth Hammaker: 151
  9. RJ Hampshire: 132
  10. Maximus Vohland: 129