Skip to content

Herfoss Untouchable at Morgan Park Raceway | Road | Sport

Troy Herfoss (Penrite Honda Racing, CBR1000SP) was simply untouchable at Morgan Park Raceway for Round 5 of the Yamaha Motor Finance Australian Superbike Championship presented by Motul Pirelli (ASBK). Coming into the round as the YMI Superbike points leader, he was calculated and precise throughout the weekend, picking up two race wins, as well as starting from pole position.

Leading up to the weekend, it was always going to be the battle of Troy after practice on Friday, and it lived up to expectations. Troy Bayliss (Desmosport Ducati, 1299 FE) and Herfoss had two epic battles in both races, but it would be Herfoss getting both wins.

“It was so much fun, having dream runs like this and I must thank the team for giving me a bike this good and so easy to ride. A big thank you to the team and I’m just so happy to take another round win and extend my championship lead,” said Herfoss.

Josh Waters (Team Suzuki ECSTAR, GSX-R1000R) and Bayliss shared the same results here at Morgan Park both grabbing a second and a fourth. Waters takes out second overall for the weekend after a better finish in race two.

Bayliss ended third but the speed he carried throughout the two races was captivating, breaking the race lap record during race two just showed he was on it this weekend.

A pair of third place finishes left Wayne Maxwell (Yamaha Racing Team, YZF-R1M) fourth overall but missed second position for the weekend by just one point.

Race One

Herfoss continues his stellar 2018 season, taking the win in race one of the YMI Superbike class here at Morgan Park Raceway. Herfoss had a poor start but his battle with Bayliss from lap ten all the way to the line was epic.

Herfoss made the move on Bayliss on lap 13, but the pair had been going at it from lap ten. It looked that Bayliss’s Ducati had more grunt down the straight and Herfoss was finding the most out of his Honda through the tight technical part of Morgan Park Raceway.

Once Herfoss made the move for the lead, he took off to the chequered flag and claimed his sixth race win of the season.

“Once again the fight with Troy is so much fun, we just have confidence in each other and he then leans in on me and I’m like don’t do that Troy, but for us to come out on top of the battle and to get our sixth win of the season is better than I would have imagined,” finished Herfoss.

Bayliss would have to settle for second, whilst behind the front two, Maxwell and Waters were battling it out for the last spot on the podium.

It would be Maxwell who found the speed to book himself the last spot on the podium, whilst defending YMI Superbike Champion, Waters would settle for fourth.

Rounding out the top five was Daniel Falzon (Yamaha Racing Team, YZF-R1M) who put in a consistent race throughout the fourteen laps.

A season best came from privateer Matt Walters (Swann Insurance Superbike, Kawasaki ZX-10R) who mixed it with the factory riders to claim sixth.

Just behind Walters was the factory Kawasaki machine of Bryan Staring (Kawasaki BCperformance, ZX-10R) who battled with Falzon throughout the race, but faded late to collect seventh position.

In his return to ASBK on a new bike, Corey Turner (Honda CBR RR SP) raced right back into the top ten and looked like he hadn’t missed a beat, grabbing eighth position.

Another one of the privateer brigade, Alex Phillis (Phillis Racing, Suzuki GSX-RR) put in a great ride in the windy conditions to collect ninth, a solid top ten effort.

Rounding out the top ten and one of his best race performance of the season was Ted Collins (NextGen Motorsports, BMW S RR).

YMI Superbike Race One Provisional Results

1. Troy HERFOSS (Penrite Honda Racing, Honda CBR RR SP) 17:19.961

2. Troy BAYLISS (Desmosport Ducati, Ducati 1299 FE) 17:21.044

3. Wayne MAXWELL (Yamaha Racing Team, Yamaha YZF-R1M) 17:24.908

4. Josh WATERS (Team Suzuki ECSTAR, Suzuki GSX-RR) 17:25.065

5. Daniel FALZON (Yamaha Racing Team, Yamaha YZF-R1M) 17:33.723

6. Matt WALTERS (Swann Insurance Superbike, Kawasaki ZX-10R) 17:36.484

7. Bryan STARING (Kawasaki BCperformance, Kawasaki ZX-10R) 17:38.319

8. Corey TURNER (Honda CBR RR SP) 17:40.551

9. Alex PHILLIS (Phillis Racing, Suzuki GSX-RR) 17:43.056

10. Ted COLLINS (NextGen Motorsports, BMW S RR) 17:43.206

Race Two

Herfoss is simply on another level in the YMI Superbike class as he makes it the perfect weekend at Morgan Park Raceway. A measured and calculated performance, Herfoss slipped to fourth off the line but he just made his ground slowly but surely throughout the 16-lap race.

He made his move on Maxwell for third mid-race before setting his sights on Waters in second, the move was made on lap ten and he set his sight on Bayliss.

The battle of Troy was enthralling with Bayliss making his bike as wide as possible, but on lap 13 Herfoss made the move and didn’t look back collecting race win number seven.

Waters bounced back this weekend after a tough past few rounds to be back on the podium, finishing in second after Bayliss ran wide on lap 15.

Maxwell was also on the receiving end of good fortune when Bayliss ran wide, making his move onto the final spot on the podium.

Bayliss would cross the line in fourth, but it was a weekend where the three-time World Superbike Champion had such great pace but just slowed towards the end of the race.

Falzon made it a pair of fifth place finishes here at Morgan Park Raceway but would be a little disappointed, he didn’t get to mix it with the lead group.

Staring would have to settle for sixth a very similar performance to race one for the man in green.

What a weekend it was for Walters, picking up seventh place in race two, a great effort after his sixth in race one leading the way for the privateers.

Turner who didn’t look out of place at all after a miss the last few rounds, backed up his race one effort with another eighth place finish, showing plenty of promise on his Honda.

Collins has had his best weekend since making the jump to the Superbike class, grabbing ninth place and giving himself great confidence for the remaining two rounds.

Local rider Ryan Yanko (Bettapork, Ducati Panigale) will be over the moon, grabbing tenth in front of his home crowd.

YMI Superbike Race Two Provisional Results

1. Troy HERFOSS (Penrite Honda Racing, Honda CBR RR SP) 19:43.566

2. Josh WATERS (Team Suzuki ECSTAR, Suzuki GSX-RR) 19:44.295

3. Wayne MAXWELL (Yamaha Racing Team, Yamaha YZF-R1M) 19:47.849

4. Troy BAYLISS (Desmosport Ducati, Ducati 1299 FE) 19:51.110

5. Daniel FALZON (Yamaha Racing Team, Yamaha YZF-R1M) 19:58.539

6. Bryan STARING (Kawasaki BCperformance, Kawasaki ZX-10R) 20:00.459

7. Matt WALTERS (Swann Insurance Superbike, Kawasaki ZX-10R) 20:03.748

8. Corey TURNER (Honda CBR RR SP) 20:12.522

9. Ted COLLINS (NextGen Motorsports, BMW S RR) 20:12.540

10. Ryan YANKO (Bettapork, Ducati Panigale) 20:17.145

Herfoss leaves Morgan Park Raceway with 256.5 points, Maxwell sits in second with 212 points and Bayliss sits in third with 194 points after the completion of five rounds.

The next time you will see ASBK in action will be at Winton, Victoria on September 7-9.

By Motorcycling Australia

Photos  Andrew Gosling tbg sport