Skip to content

Cru Halliday Unstoppable for Yamaha at Wakefield Park | Road | Sport

Taking both wins for the Kawasaki Supersport class was Cru Halliday (Yamaha Racing Team, YZF-R6)

After such a strong round its looking like a healthy and competitive rivalry is brewing between himself and Tom Toparis (Cube Racing, Kawasaki ZX-6R) for the title within the Yamaha Motor Finance Australian Superbike Championship presented by Motul Pirelli (ASBK)

 Kawasaki Supersport Race One

It was a phenomenal and measured race win by Halliday. He stated on the grid that he was nervous for the race ahead, but those fears were put to rest quickly as he made a quick getaway from his starting grid position, to lead the race.

 Halliday was followed by Toparis and Lachlan Epis (ResponseRE, Kawasaki ZX-6R). The trio would remain within a seven second spread, until Halliday crossed the line, taking the win on his Factory YZF-R6 machine.

 Joining Halliday on the podium was Toparis and Epis. Broc Pearson (Yamaha Motors Australia, Yamaha YZF-R6) finishing in a lonely fourth place. The battle for fifth was the highlight of the race with Max Croker just managing to take the position in front of Giuseppe Scarcella (BCperformance Jnr Team, Kawasaki ZX-6R), Jordan Carlsson (Cini Fences, Yamaha YZF-R6) and Nic Liminton (LDA Racing, Yamaha YZF- R6).

 Halliday sharing; “It was super windy out there. I just wanted to build a gap on Tommy (Toparis) as he’s been very strong this weekend. I knew if I could get the lead I could maintain my position for the race. We’re well prepared for the next race and looking forward to it.”

 According to Toparis; “The wind was insane out there and it was a big unknown at the start of the race. I had a few moments on the front there. Hopefully we can make adjustments to the bike, come out and stay closer to Cru.”

 Epis saying; “Unfortunately I made the wrong setup choice this morning. I was riding my heart out and I couldn’t keep up with the boys in front. We had a good battle with Tommy at the start but he managed to get away from us quite early on.”

 Kawasaki Supersport Race One Results

1. Cru HALLIDAY (Yamaha Racing Team, Yamaha YZF-R6)       

2. Tom TOPARIS (Cube Racing, Kawasaki ZX-6R)

3. Lachlan EPIS (ResponseRE, Kawasaki ZX-6R)   

4. Broc PEARSON (Yamaha Motors Australia, Yamaha YZF-R6) 

5. Max CROKER (Mat Mladin, GSXR-600)

6. Giuseppe SCARCELLA (BCperformance Jnr Team, Kawasaki ZX-6R)

7. Jordan CARLSSON (Cini Fences, Yamaha YZF-R6)

8. Nic LIMINTON (LDA Racing, Yamaha YZF- R6)

9. Damon REES (Carl Cox M-sports, Honda CBR600RR)

10. Dallas SKEER (Ron Angel Classic Racing Suzuki GSXR-600) 

 Kawasaki Supersport Race Two

Halliday took another dominant win in race two and showcased just how good the YZF-R6 is in his capable hands. Toparis took another strong second place, but distant to the winner. Finishing in third was Pearson who is having a very strong season so far. The race was brought to a premature end, due to a red flag.

 At the start of the race Halliday took the lead once again but he was quickly overtaken by a charging Toparis. It wouldn’t take long for Halliday to regain the ascendency, getting in front of Toparis with 11 laps to go. From there it was the Halliday show and he controlled the race to perfection.

 The red flag came out after 14 laps due to a crash involving Carlsson and Rhys Belling (LXI Racing, Yamaha YZF-R6). The race was declared and Halliday took the race victory, 3.739 seconds in front of Toparis.

 The consistent Pearson finished on the podium, in front of Croker, Scarcella, Rees, Scott Nicholson (NextGen Motorsports, Suzuki GSXR-600) and Cambridge Olivier (YRD, Yamaha YZF-R6).    

 After today’s racing, Toparis still leads the Kawasaki Supersport Championship standings with 155 points, in front of Halliday (111) and Pearson (85).

 ASBK heads to the Bend Motorsport Park for Round 3 of the championship 19-22nd of April. Its sure to be a thrilling round as the championship heads to the brand-new track for 2018!

 Kawasaki Supersport Race Two Provisional Results

1. Cru HALLIDAY (Yamaha Racing Team, Yamaha YZF-R6)       

2. Tom TOPARIS (Cube Racing, Kawasaki ZX-6R)

3. Broc PEARSON (Yamaha Motors Australia, Yamaha YZF-R6)

4. Max CROKER (Mat Mladin, GSX-600R)

5. Giuseppe SCARCELLA (BCperformance Jnr Team, Kawasaki ZX-6R)

6. Damon REES (Carl Cox M-sports Honda CBR600RR)   

7. Scott NICHOLSON (NextGen Motorsports, Suzuki GSXR-600)

8. Cambridge OLIVIER (YRD, Yamaha YZF-R6)   

9. Jack PASSFIELD (Stay Upright, Yamaha YZF-R6)

10. Nic LIMINTON (LDA Racing, Yamaha YZF- R6)

2018 ASBK Calendar                                                           

Official ASBK Test, The Bend Motorsport Park, Tailem Bend, SA       April 3-4  

Round 3- The Bend Motorsport Park, Tailem Bend, SA                        April 19 – 22 

Round 4- Hidden Valley Raceway, Darwin NT                                      June 28 – 1 July

Round 5- Morgan Park Raceway, Warwick QLD                                   August 17 – 19

Round 6- Winton Motor Raceway, Benalla, VIC                                   September 7 – 9

Round 7- Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit, VIC                                  October 12 – 14

Photos by Andrew Gosling