Skip to content

Chiodo blazes to Phillip Island ASBK Supersport pole | Sport | WSBK

Victorian rising star Mark Chiodo was untouchable in the Australian Motul Supersport Championship qualifying at Phillip Island’s opening round of the 2017 Yamaha Motor Finance Australian Superbike Championship supported by Motul Pirelli (ASBK) this afternoon, soaring to a dominant pole position.


The Repsol Gas Racing Triumph 675 R rider posted a fastest lap of 1m35.899s on his fifth and final circulation during the 15-minute session, just outside of the existing circuit best lap of 1m35.826s set by former national champion Shannon Johnson in 2009. 


“It’s really good to take the first pole position of the year,” Chiodo reflected. “I mean, testing has all been good, but it’s another thing to bring it to the round and we’ve shown that we can do that.”


Posting ‘that time’ put Chiodo a full 1.657s ahead of Mason Coote (Mason Coote Racing YZF-R6) in second, while Ted Collins (Next Get Motorsport GSX-R600) will fill the three-rider front row of the talent-packed 35 rider grid. 


“P2 in qualifying,  I can’t believe it because I’ve had 14 months off the bike and it’s my first race in such a long time,” Coote said. “It’s only qualifying, but I’m over the moon. The bike’s working amazingly well – the Yamaha and Pirelli combination is unreal.”


Collins commented; “That ride was awesome! The bike’s been working well, Traction Control suspension and Next Gen Motorsports have put an awesome package together. I just went out there and did my best – it’s my first front row in ASBK, so I’m pumped.”


Defending national number three, Luke Mitchell (DPH Motorsports YZF-R6) will start out of fourth, 2.013s from the pole-time, after edging out impressive class newcomer and Supersport 300 graduate Sam Condon (Bikebiz YZF-R6).


Positions six through 10 belong to Nic Liminton (ARAI Center YZF-R6), Ryan Taylor (Pablo’s Motorcycle Tyres YZF-R6), Cambridge Olivier (Sydney West Riders Racing YZF-R6), Callum Alderson (AARK Racing YZF-R6) and Ben Burke (Yamaha YZF-R6) respectively.


Race one of the 2017 Australian Supersport Championship is scheduled to be contested across 10 laps at 4:10pm local time on Saturday, with two more races of the same duration due to take place on Sunday alongside round one of the Motul Superbike World Championship (WorldSBK).

Live timing and results can be found here