Skip to content

Aussie Davo Johnson to lead 2017 TT! | SPORT

Changes announced at the Isle of Man TT launch event will see Australia’s David Davo Johnson (Norton) first off the line during both the Superbike TT and the event’s blue-riband Senior TT. It’s a role 23-time Isle of Man winner John McGuinness (Honda Racing) has filled every year since 2011, except in 2013 when he ran the number three plate as a tribute to the late, great Joey Dunlop.

“The last Aussie to run number one was back in the 70s so this is such a huge honour,” the Aussie said. “I am ready for this and I will give it my all!”

Kiwi veteran Bruce Anstey (Padgetts Honda) will start behind the Norton-mounted rider for an Antipodean one-two ahead of James Hillier (JG Speedfit Kawasaki), Ian Hutchinson (Tyco BMW) and McGuinness. Thirteen-time TT winner Michael Dunlop (Bennetts Suzuki) will start sixth, meaning that there will be five different manufacturers in the top six starters.

DJ will look to improve on his impressive results from 2016 where he finished seventh on the Norton in the competitive Superbike TT, posting an average speed of 130.8mph. DJ’s Australian teammate Josh Brookes will start from 16th place in what will be his first TT appearance since 2014.

The 2017 field is a hugely talented one – 19 of the top 20 riders can lay claim to an amassed total of 71 TT victories and 196 podiums. The racing kicks off on 27 May and runs through to 9 June.