Skip to content

From no AMA SX titles in 115 years to two in one year | Off-Road | Sport

Rockstar Energy Husqvarna racing duo Jason Anderson and Zach Osborne have both been crowned AMA Supercross champions in what has been nothing short of a dream season for the brand which has never won an AMA SX title before now.

The newly crowned 450SX champ, Jason Anderson, who has held the red plate since the second round of the series, qualified third, finished second in his heat race and kept it all together to finish fifth in the main event which was won by Kawasaki’s Eli Tomac, but it was enough to secure him the title.

“Today was really stressful, but I feel like I handled it really well and came out with the championship,” Anderson said.

Aussie Chad Reed rode his Husqvarna to 11th in the Main Event for a 13th overall placement.

Meanwhile, Osborne wrapped up the 250SX East Coast title after converting his top-place qualifying position to a victory in his heat. It wasn’t as easy in the main event, however, getting swallowed up in the opening lap. The Husqvarna rider fought his way back through the field to eventually finish seventh behind winner Adam Cianciarulo (Kawasaki), to secure his third 250cc championship, which he called “the hardest one so far.”

The 250SX West championship went to Yamaha’s Aaron Plessinger while Australia’s Hayden Mellross ended the season in 10th overall.

As appeared in AMCN Mag Vol 67 No 22