Skip to content


Last weekend’s 2016 Honda / Tumut Motorcycle Accessories New South Wales Junior Track Championship meeting showed that the future of the sport is in good hands as the young riders turned on plenty of excitement and drama.

A rider scoring an all-the-way win was rare, particularly in the deciding races  of all of the 12 championship classes which produced racing of the highest quality.

Eight different riders shared the class wins, but even outside of the placegetters there were plenty of riders who could be well pleased with their efforts as they improved on previous showings.

Individual star was Singleton rider Billy Van Eerde who blitzed his rivals in three classes in the ultra- competitive 13 to Under 16 s age group.

The win by Bryce Holmes in the other 13 to Under 16 class was significant for two reasons as he was one of the contingents of interstate riders who made the trip worthwhile, and he is also one of a handful of riders nearing the end of their time in junior competition.

Coffs Harbour’s Bailey Spencer signed off with a rostrum place while Mackenzie Childs, Sam Laguzza and Jake Farnsworth did not get among the placings but will take great confidence in to their senior racing.

Taree rider Jack Hyde is just 14 but managed three placings in an impressive weekend of riding.

Central Coast Junior Motorcycle Club member Senna Agius was the standout for the host club winning two classes, while Talon Cardinale (twice) and Jacob Roulstone were among the placegetters.

Forbes rider Tom Drane also claimed a double before his family headed back to their flooded home town after the meeting.

Besides Bryce Holmes from Melbourne, Brisbane rider Rowan Millar also made the trip worthwhile with a class win.

Add in placegetters Max Berry from Melbourne and Damon Burke from Mildura, as well as Brisbane riders Max Whale and Cyshan Weale and there numerous trophies going interstate.

Other winners came from the Hunter region with Carter Thompson, Cameron Dunker and Ryan Smith all stepping on to the top of the rostrum.

The win by Singleton rider Smith ahead of Millar from Brisbane and Max Berry from Melbourne was described by long-time track announcer Peter Baker as the “race of the year”.

”All three riders held all three positions on several occasions during their battle” said Baker

Club President David Smith added “These juniors are not just tomorrow’s stars, they are already stars and turn on exciting action to match any senior racing”.

Staged at Somersby on September 24 and 25, 2016.

1st                                                        2nd                                                       3rd

50cc Auto Div.2 7 – U/9                    Carter Thompson (Kurri Kurri))     Talon Cardinale (Central Coast)     Kurtis Jackson (Kurri Kurri)

65cc 7 – U/9                                                              Cameron Dunker (Kurri Kurri)                         Talon Cardinale (Central Coast)     Hayden Nelson (Taree)

65cc 9 – U/13                                                           Tom Drane (Forbes)                                               Ben Baker (Cowra)                                                  Ryan Smith (Singleton)

85cc 4-str Modified 7- U/10                             Tom Drane (Forbes)                                               Cameron Dunker (Kurri Kurri)                         Damon Burke (Mildura)

85cc 4-str Modified 10- U/14                          Senna Agius (Central Coast)                               Jacob Roulstone (Central Coast)   Kruze Brady (Leeton)

85cc 2str / 150cc 4str Std 9 – U/11             Senna Agius (Central Coast)                               Benjamin Baker (Cowra)                    Damon Burke (Mildura)

85cc 2str / 150cc 4str Std11 – U/13          Ryan Smith (Singleton)                       Rowan Millar (North Brisbane)      Max Berry (Harley, Vic)

85cc 2str / 150cc 4str BW11 – U/13          Rowan Millar (North Brisbane)      Ryan Smith (Singleton)                       Kruze Brady (Leeton)

85cc 2str / 150cc 4str 13 – U/16                 Bryce Holmes (Harley, Vic)                                  Jack Hyde (Taree)                                                     Harrison Ryan (Kurri Kurri)

100-150 2str 13 – U/16                    Billy Van Eerde (Singleton)                                  Cyshan Weale (North Brisbane)    Bailey Spencer (Coffs Harbour))

200-250 4-str 13 – U/16                                    Billy Van Eerde (Singleton)                                  Max Whale (North Brisbane)                            Jack Hyde (Taree)

Combined 2str & 4str 13 – U/16 Billy Van Eerde (Singleton)                                  Jack Hyde (Taree)                                                     Max Whale (North Brisbane)

Support Class

80cc Std 4-str                                                           Tristan Ayres (Central Coast)                             Lachlan Russell (Central Coast)      James Jacobs (Central Coast)

For more information contact club President David Smith on 0412 506 503