Skip to content

Samurai Trophy returns | EVENTS

Get ready to vote for Australia’s top young motorcycling talent

One of the most coveted awards in Australian motorcycle racing has returned to where it began – the prestigious RK Chains Samurai Trophy is coming home to AMCN.

The Samurai Trophy is awarded annually to the most improved, most outstanding and best young talent in Aussie racing, on and off the track. With past recipients such as Mick Doohan, Daryl Beattie, Anthony Gobert and, more recently, Mike Jones and Josh Hook, the winner will be in legendary company.

The list of 2016 finalists for the 29-year-old award will be nominated by key members of the industry. The general public will then be able to vote online to help determine who will receive the Samurai Trophy.

As is tradition, this year’s winner will be announced early next year. Keep an eye on AMCN for details of how you can cast your vote closer to the announcement.

RK Chains Samurai Award Roll of Honour

2015 Not awarded

2014    Aiden Wagner

2013    Matthew Walters

2012    Josh Hook

2011    Mike Jones

2010    Troy Herfoss

2009    Not Awarded

2008    Pat Medcalf

2007    Jason O’Halloran

2006    Jamie Stauffer

2005    Mark Aitchison

2004    Adam Fergusson

2003    Kevin Curtain

2002    Shannon Johnson

2001    Josh Brookes

2000    Craig Coxhell

1999    Broc Parkes

1998    Anthony West

1997    Martin Craggill

1996    Mark Willis

1995    Rip Crocker

1994    Anthony Gobert

1993    Troy Corser

1992    Michael O’Connor

1991    Mat Mladin

1990    Daryl Beattie

1989    Rene Bongers

1988    Mick Doohan

1987    Grant Hodson