Skip to content

Aussie MotoGP 8 Days To Go! | EVENTS

There’s eight days left before the action starts at Phillip Island, the track where many riders have clinched a world championship. We look back at eight of the best!

Loris Capirossi

Loris Capirossi became the youngest-ever rider to become 125cc world champion when he won the Australian round of the 1990 125cc Grand Prix ahead of Bruno Casanova.

Max Biaggi

In 1997, Max Biaggi qualified on pole position, finished second to Ralf Waldmann and was crowned the 250cc World Champion for the fourth consecutive year.


Mick Doohan

In 1998, Australian hero Mick Doohan clinched his fifth 500cc Grand Prix world title by winning the Australian Grand Prix ahead of Kiwi Simon Crafar and Alex Criville.

Olivier Jacque

It was the last race of the 2000 250cc Grand Prix Season and Frenchman Olivier Jacque held off Shinya Nakano by just 0.014sec to nab is first and only world title.

Valentino Rossi

Valentino Rossi won the very last 500cc Grand Prix World Championship at Phillip Island in 2001. It was his first-ever premier class world title. His 2004 world title was also picked up at the Island; he only needed to finish eighth to win but a thrilling late-stage battle with Sete Gibernau saw him take the win to take the title. Can he make it three in 2015?


Marco Melandri

Marco Melandri was 20 years old when he won the Aussie round of the 250cc world title from Fonsi Nieto by a tiny 0.007sec margin. The win saw him tie up the title in Australia with one round left to run. It was his first and only world championship.

Dani Pedrosa

Dani Pedrosa wrapped up his first 250cc title and second world championship (the first was 125cc) on Australian soil when he finished fourth in the 250cc race behind Miguel Poggiali, Roberto Rolfo and Toni Elias.

Casey Stoner

Casey Stoner dominated the Australian round of the 2011 MotoGP World Championship to claim his second world championship in front an adoring crowd. He secured the title with nine race wins and stunning streak of 15 podiums in 16 races. The title was sewn up with two rounds left to run.