Skip to content

Historic Road Racing Championships put on a Classic Show at Wakefield Park | Sport | WSBK

Wakefield Park has enjoyed its most successful race meeting so far in 2017, competitors and spectators flocking to the nation’s spectator track for the Australian Historic Road Racing Championships

While a good crowd was predicted due to the pre-event promotion and strong entry numbers, Wakefield Park Operations Manager Matt Baragwanath said the attendance was even better than expected.


“When the event was announced, we expected around 300 motorcycles but we ended up with more than 380,” Mr Baragwanath said.


“Our spectator figures from the weekend show there’s plenty of interest in historic motorcycles because all the main vantage points were close to capacity, and a lot of guests were walking around the pits and taking the chance to have an up-close look at all the old bikes.


“A lot of competitors travelled from interstate to participate this weekend – we had riders from as far away as Tasmania and Western Australia – so it was a sensational event for the local economy,” Baragwanath finished.


A total of 48 races were held across the two days with each category receiving four races, and bikes grouped according to their era and engine capacity.


On his 1926 Indian Altoona, Stan Mucha was the best of the Period 2 (1920-1945 motorcycles), winning three races while the Race 4 win went to Peter Birthisel (also on an Indian Altoona).


Period 3 (1946-1962) victories went to Peter O’Neill (250cc), Neil May (350cc), Brendan Roberts (500cc), Robby Turner (Formula 700cc) and David Trotter (Unlimited).


Taking the wins in Period 4 (1963-1972) were Victor Vassella (125cc), Roly Orr (250/350cc), Bob Marriner (500cc), Aaiden Coote (750cc) and Corey Forde (Unlimited).


Honours in Period 5 (1973-1982) went to Ron Carrick (125cc), Stephen Ward (250cc), Glen Kelleher (350cc), Stephen Kairl (500cc), Ryan McLaughlan (750cc) and Paul Byrne (Unlimited).


The overall round victories in Period 6 (1982-1990) were taken by Jason Dunn (125cc), Brett Simmonds (250cc GP), Glen Kelleher (250cc Production), Steven Craig (500cc) and Aaron Morris (Formula 1300cc).


The AHRRC race meeting also featured Sidecars, where it was the combination of Mark Knight/David Rumble (Period 5) that won all four races outright. Period 4 Sidecar honours were shared between John Clancy/Warren Grubb and Doug Chivas/Scoobie Breen, while Garth Francis/Paul Kenny were the best of the Period 3 Sidecar runners.

Motorcycling Australia would like to thank Post Classic Racing Association of NSW and Wakefield Park Raceway for all their hard work to help make this event possible

Editorial courtesy of Lachlan Mansell

Photos courtesy of Colin Rosewarne