Skip to content

Horsell Consulting F1 & F2 Sidecar Championship Concludes the season at the Island | Sport | WSBK

Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit was treated to great racing in the Australian Sidecar Championship this weekend

Winning the Championships for F1 & F2 were Sidecar duos Dave Boughen/ Lok O’Kane (F1 Suzuki GSXR) and Mick Alton / Chrissie Clancy (F2 J & C Contracting, Honda Shelbourne)

The highly modified outfits of the F1 & F2 Australian Sidecar Championship were engaged in a heated battle today for Races Two and Three.

Race Two quickly got underway at 12:25pm on the start grid. The F1 and F2 class machines launched from the starting grid positions in wet conditions. The track favouring the F2 machines over the more powerful torque of the F1’s that struggled for grip.

The fastest lap was achieved on lap by Alton/Clancy with a time of 2:14.702 and they did not ease off their pace, cruising home to victory with Matthew McKinnon/ Brad Gorrie (Matty’s Spoke Wheels F2 Suzuki Peterbuilt), only 35.666 seconds behind.

Third place getter was Damien Edis / Melanie Schluter (F2 Suzuki Random).

Duncan Rogers/ Rodney Bell were the first F1 class outfit across the line, placing seventh overall.

Mick Alton / Chrissie Clancy

Race Two Provisional Top 10 Results

1 Mick ALTON / Chrissie CLANCY (J & C Contracting   F2 Suzuki LCR)

2  Matthew McKINNON / Brad GORRIE (Matty’s Spoke Wheels F2 Suzuki Peterbuilt

4 Bruce COLLINS / Peter DEANGELIS (Breeze Logistics Australia / Peter DeAngelis F2   LCR 600

5 Darryl RAYNER / Wendy CAMPBELL (F2 Shelbourne CBR RR)

6 John CLANCY / Warren GRUBB (Golden Age Homes F2 Suzuki LCR)

7 Duncan ROGERS / Rodney BELL (Ashburton Service Ctr F1 LCR GSXR)

8 Dave BOUGHEN / Lok O’KANE (F1 Suzuki GSXR)

9 Howard FORD / Lee MENZIES (NSW) / B Beard Concreting F1 Suzuki GSXR)

10  Darryl McLEOD / Paul MATTHEWS (Turn-A-Part Engineering F2 Suzuki GSXR)

Race Three of the F1 & F2 Australian Sidecar Championship was the final session on track at Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit. All outfits featured were away quickly and cleanly off the line and through the turn one and two combination, F1 riders Boughen and Lok Okane led from the front.

The Alton/Clancy duo chased down the Boughen/ O’kane outfit as best they could, however they would not be able to maintain the pace compared to the leaders.

Bruce Collins F2 outfit blew an engine at Shark Helmets corner (Turn 4)

Ford Menzies were frustrated behind the Irving Vincent on lap 5 tagging slightly, Menzies making the move on the next lap.

In the end, the podium would be made up of side car duos F1 Dave Boughen / Lok O’kane  F2 Mick Alton / Chrissie Clancy and F1 Howard Ford/ Lee Menzies.

Race Three Results

1 Dave BOUGHEN / Lok O’KANE (F1 Suzuki GSXR)

2  Mick ALTON / Chrissie CLANCY (J & C Contracting F2 Suzuki LCR)

3  Howard FORD / Lee MENZIES (B Beard Concreting F1 Suzuki GSXR)

4 Jeff BROWN / Darren SHELDRICK ( APW M-cycles F1 BME Suzuki GSXR)

5  Matthew McKINNON / Brad GORRIE (Matty’s Spoke Wheels F2 Suzuki Peterbuilt)

6  Beau BEATON / Noel BEARE ( KH Equipment Irving Vincent)

7  Darryl RAYNER / Wendy CAMPBELL (F2 Shelbourne CBR RR)

8  John CLANCY / Warren GRUBB (Golden Age Homes F2 Suzuki LCR)

9   Richard GOODALE / Scott GOODALE (F2 Shelbourne)

10  Damien EDIS / Melanie SCHLUTER (F2 Suzuki Random)

Quotes from the riders:

Dave Boughen / Lok O’kane:

“It’s great to bring home the championship with a win here at Phillip Island. We’ve had a crazy day here with a wet race at the start and then a belter in the sun for the final.

“We are so grateful for all the support that all of our sponsors, friends and family have given us this year and this is exactly where we wanted to finish it up- on the F1 podium!”

Mick Alton / Chrissie Clancy:

“That was such a great race! The Vincent was in front of us for a while and it was so loud! Even though it was a one off run for the Irving, it was a great to have such a wonderful piece of engineering on the track with us.

“It’s been a really great year for us and we are so happy to take out our F2 2017 Championship and what better way to end up than here on the ASBK podium at an iconic racetrack like the Island.”

Boughen / O’Kane

2017 Australian Sidecar Championship Provisional Top 10

Pos                  Name                                                   Machine           Total

1          Dave BOUGHEN / Lok O’KANE (QLD)             Suzuki               254

2          Howard FORD / Lee MENZIES (NSW)             Suzuki               219

3          Jeff BROWN / Darren SHELDRICK (NSW)       BME                 171

4          Mick ALTON / Chrissie CLANCY (NSW)             Suzuki            158

5          Matthew McKINNON / Brad GORRIE (NSW)     Suzuki             131

6          Bruce COLLINS / Peter DEANGELIS (VIC)        LCR                131

7          Jero JOYCE / Corey BLACKMAN (WA)                                     128

8          Darryl McLEOD / Paul MATTHEWS (WA)          Suzuki             121

9          John CLANCY / Warren GRUBB (VIC)               Suzuki             86

10        Darryl RAYNER / Wendy CAMPBELL (NSW)    Shelbourne      84