Skip to content

Cook from Brook at Aussie Long Track Masters | Off-Road | Sport

Jarred Brook narrowly failed to make it three triples in three years when the 2017 Australian Long Track Masters was staged at the Bathurst Showground, NSW, on 11 November. Brook won both the Pro Open and Pro 250 finals but was edged out by Zach Cook (pictured) in the Pro 450 decider.

Darren Herrick was another dual winner, taking the Unlimited two-stroke and Over 35s finals, both times by leading home local hero Ben Grabham.

Numbers were up in the long-track sliders this year, where James Davies won from Kieran Sproule and Matty Day. Other class winners were Jody Mason (Evo Slider), Tom Scott (Evo MX), Amy Wedd (Women’s) and Maurice Brown and Harrison Ryan (Juniors). Corey Banks/Tom Banks dominated the Dirt Track Sidecars while Shane Hudson/Cam Bell were the stand-outs in the Track Sidecars.

The shoot-out again proved to be a popular innovation.

Mackenzie Childs was quickest on the MX frames with a lap at 107.728km/h, Hudson/Bell were the quickest on three wheels at 112.496km/h and Matty Day the quickest slider at 117.609km/h.

This annual meeting is the nearest thing Australia has to US flat-track style racing, and the huge rider entry list included a significant number ticking the meeting off their ‘must-do’ list.

Make sure you save the next date – 10 November 2018.

Peter Baker

Images from the 2017 Australian Longtrack Masters held at Bathurst show ground on 11 November 2017